2023 District Teachers of the Year

In our Good News segment during our April Board of Education meeting, we enjoyed a Teacher of the Year surprise. Buncombe County Schools' seven District Teachers of the Year for 2023 were announced by 2022 Teacher of the Year Bill Honey and Associate Superintendent Susanne Swanger.

Our district winners are:

Kathryn Speak, Sand Hill-Venable Elementary, Enka District

Caryn Levy, Leicester Elementary School, Erwin District

Jenny Zimmerman, North Buncombe High School, North Buncombe District

Taylor Marie Taylor, Charles D. Owen High School, Owen District

Whitley Burleson, Fairview Elementary School, Reynolds District

Josh Lowe, T.C. Roberson High School, Roberson District

James Violette, Buncombe County Early College, At Large District

"We are so proud to recognize excellence in BCS classrooms,” said Ms. Swanger. “We know our teachers play a critical role in student success. We congratulate our finalists for our district Teacher of the Year program, but also want to acknowledge all of our teachers and staff who are committed, skilled, and passionate about ensuring our students succeed everyday.”

The district winners are selected from all of the school-level Teachers of the Year. The seven district winners will now compete for recognition as the 2023 Buncombe County Teacher of the Year, which will be announced at the Teacher of the Year Banquet next September. The winner will go on to compete for Western Region Teacher of the Year.

The selection process for the Buncombe County Teacher of the Year includes a portfolio, interviews, classroom observations, and a prepared speech presentation.

Check out more photos from the meeting here>>>>https://bit.ly/378mGdX