the logo for the teacher of the year with the words "Congratulations 2025 Teachers of the Year"

Congratulations to our 2025 Teachers of The Year! Each year, schools select an educator from their ranks as their “Teacher of the Year” (TOTY). These teachers then go on to compete as TOTY for their district, and then the county as a whole. Once we announce the overall county winner in May, that individual will go on to compete for North Carolina Teacher of the Year, and then across the country! 

The Teacher of the Year program was created to honor and recognize exceptional teachers who go above and beyond to bring compassionate and skilled teaching to our students every day. We appreciate our teachers and congratulate our 2025 Teachers of the Year!


BCSVA – Nick Peragine 

Community High School – Dylan McKnight

PEP – Nicole Steele

BCEC/BCMC/BCCI – Sam Summers

Nesbitt Discovery Academy – Caitlin Burnett


Enka High — Matthew Long

Enka Middle – Martha Tallent

Enka Intermediate – Meredith Allen

Sand Hill-Venable Elementary – Cynthia Srijayanta

Pisgah Elementary – Stacey Pavlina

Candler Elementary – Sydney Fox 

Hominy Valley Elementary – Jennifer Anderson


Clyde A. Erwin High – Jessica Jones

Clyde A. Erwin Middle  – Sarah Nicholson

Joe P. Eblen Intermediate – Michelle Knapik

Johnston Elementary – Shanna Buckner

Emma Elementary – Heather Roy

West Buncombe Elementary – Louise Hall

Woodfin Elementary – Brenna Banks

Leicester Elementary – Courtney Green


A.C. Reynolds High – Brian Barnhouse

A.C. Reynolds Middle – Ashley Osmunson

Cane Creek Middle School – Cindi Gosnell

Charles C. Bell Elementary – Erin Seickel

Oakley Elementary – Codi Edenfield-Estes

Fairview Elementary – Taylor Sanders

Haw Creek Elementary – Vanessa Hensley


T.C. Roberson High – Lori Galbert

Valley Springs Middle – John Keith Kloman

C.T. Koontz Intermediate – Elizabeth Roberts

W.W. Estes Elementary – Norren Drewery

Avery’s Creek Elementary – Jeffrey M. Eckler

Glen Arden Elementary – Paul Buckley


Charles D. Owen High – Kim Clark

Charles D. Owen Middle – Joy Inabinette

Black Mountain Primary – Paula Schlenk

Black Mountain Elementary – Laura Josey

W.D. Williams Elementary – Catharine Laufer


North Buncombe High – Corinne McNamee

North Buncombe Middle – Allison McQuinn

North Windy Ridge Intermediate – Rachel Brillisour

Weaverville Primary – Lee Jamison 

Weaverville Elementary – Jill Bell

Barnardsville Elementary – Brittany Murray

North Buncombe Elementary – Jodi Mann