Last item for navigation
Fairview's Bus Driver of the Year
Fairview's Bus Driver of the Year
Posted on 06/20/2018
Ms. Marsha Bailey of Fairview Elementary is the 2018 Bus Driver of the Year!By: Benjamin Rickert, Communications Dept.

Ms. Marsha Bailey of Fairview Elementary School received a standing ovation as she was honored as the BCS Bus Driver of the Year during June's Board of Education meeting.

"Each year an outstanding school bus driver is selected to receive the Tracy Lea Calhoun Memorial Award," explained BCS Senior Supervisor of Transportation Josh Francis.

The award was created in honor of a 17-year-old high school student who in 1980 lost her life in Raleigh when a vehicle ran a stop sign, he added.

The Calhoun award is sponsored by the Asheville Oil Company and members of the North Carolina Petroleum Marketing Association.

"School bus drivers have a tremendous responsibility and deserve any recognition for the awesome duty they do every day - transporting our children to and from school," said Asheville Oil's Kay Thorpe. "It is our company's hope that this award will focus attention on deserving drivers and bring about a continued dedication to school bus safety in our area."

Ms. Jamie Slagle, Fairview's Assistant Principal, also spoke on Ms. Bailey's behalf, praising her for her character, commitment, and positive impact on students. After Bailey walked past rows of smiling spectators to join her on the main floor, Slagle and Bailey exchanged an enthusiastic hug.

"Every day, our drivers travel over 15,000 miles, transporting over 14,000 students on 261 buses," continued Francis. "We commend all drivers for their skills behind the wheel and we praise them for their safety record. Their commitment is exceptional."

This video from June 7 features Ms. Slagle's words about their Bus Driver of the Year, Ms. Marsha Bailey:

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement