2020 Teachers of the Year
2020 Teachers of the Year
Posted on 01/24/2019
Classrooms erupted in cheers this past week as schools across Buncombe County announced their 2020 Teachers of the Year!

By: Benjamin Rickert, Communications Dept.

Classrooms erupted in cheers this past week as schools across Buncombe County announced their new 2020 Teachers of the Year! The annual tradition recognizes teachers of exceptional skill and commitment, and is an opportunity for teachers to recognize peers who exemplify the profession and its values.

“I couldn’t be more proud of our teachers of the year,” said Superintendent Dr. Tony Baldwin. “Their recognition is well-deserved and their successes are evident everyday in our classrooms.”

BCS is unique in that teachers lead the process from start to finish, both at the school level, and in selecting district and county-wide teachers of the year. Each school’s chosen educator will submit essays to a committee that will conduct interviews and classroom visits over the next several to months to choose seven district finalists. The county-wide Buncombe County Schools Teachers of the Year will be announced at an awards banquet this fall.

Congratulations to our talented and distinguished Teachers of the Year who continually inspire those around them, helping students to be their best and prepare for tomorrow.

The 2019-2020 Teachers of the Year
Rebecca K. Whittier, A.C. Reynolds Middle
Charles Furlow, A.C. Reynolds High
Katie Ann Cody, Avery's Creek Elementary
Kelli Lyda, Barnardsville Elementary
Melissa Angel, Black Mountain Elementary
John Gibson, Black Mountain Primary
Rebecca Hefner, Buncombe County Early College
Andrea Sellers, Candler Elementary
Ariel Warden, Cane Creek Middle
Melissa Burton, Charles C. Bell Elementary
Caroline Ayers, Charles D. Owen Middle
Anne Haffey, Charles D. Owen High
Tiffany Wooten, Clyde A. Erwin High
Rachel Reaves, Clyde A. Erwin Middle
Stephen Gray, Community High
Karen Whitten, Emma Elementary
Heather Dougherty, Enka High
Allison Lipham, Enka Intermediate
Amy Boswell, Enka Middle
Rebecca Reeves, Fairview Elementary
Karen Martin, Glen Arden Elementary
Kathryn Laws, Haw Creek Elementary
Aimee Gaston, Hominy Valley Elementary
Mrs. Leslie Anderson, Joe P. Eblen Intermediate
Beth Halliday, Johnston Elementary
DeLana Parker, Koontz Intermediate
Brooke Rhodarmer, Leicester Elementary
Jolie Kaiser, Martin L. Nesbitt Discovery Academy
LaTonya Walters, North Buncombe Elementary
Sherry Peek, North Buncombe Middle
Captain James Sullivan, North Buncombe High
Aubrey Cripps, North Windy Ridge Intermediate
Angela Ensley, Oakley Elementary
Beth Myers, Pisgah Elementary
Peyton Young, Progressive Education Program
Sheila Moody, Sand Hill-Venable Elementary
Alan Wilson, T.C. Roberson High
Bethany Chapman, Valley Springs Middle
Ellen Parry, W.D. Williams Elementary
Sarah Harrison, Weaverville Elementary
Heather Gast, Weaverville Primary
Angela Shiflet, West Buncombe Elementary
Matthew Lane, William W. Estes Elementary
Amy Lunsford, Woodfin Elementary

Please submit any corrections to communications@bcsemail.org.

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.