Last item for navigation
Fifteen Earn Community Foundation Scholarships
Fifteen Earn Community Foundation Scholarships
Posted on 07/07/2021
15 BCS students received college scholarships this year from The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina.Featured Photo: The graduates of Charles D. Owen High School toss their caps on June 15, 2021. Photo by Benjamin Rickert, BCS Communications Dept.

BCS Communications Dept.

Fifteen Buncombe County Schools students were selected to receive college scholarships this year by The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina (CFWNC). In total, the organization approved $410,250 to students in 19 counties.

“From a large pool of student applications, amazing students were chosen for follow-up virtual interviews and final selection," said scholarship committee member Christena Southwick of the Rotary Club of Asheville, according to the press release. "What a wonderful opportunity CFWNC provides the committees and area youth, sending them off to college and bright futures."

Congratulations to these accomplished students and thank you to those in our community who continually invest in student success.

A.C. Reynolds High School
Alex Knickrehm
Addison Porter
Tamia Taylor

North Buncombe High School
Andrew Cook
Joy Prettyman
Amelia Sullivan

Charles D. Owen High School
Andrew Knight
Ava Yurchak

Clyde A. Erwin High School
Jed Dorsey

Enka High School
Dylan Gudac
Antonio Torres

Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr. Discovery Academy
Leah Morrissey
Emma Whitney

T.C. Roberson High School
Gabrielle Martin
Amelia Seligman

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Buncombe County Schools does not discriminate on the basis of sex in its education programs or activities and is required by Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972 and federal regulations to not discriminate in such a manner. This requirement extends to admission and employment. Inquiries about the application of Title IX and its implementing federal regulations may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator and/or the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights in the Office for Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Education. The Title IX Coordinator's contact information is: Shanon Martin,, 828-255-5918, 175 Bingham Road, Asheville, NC 28806.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement