Last item for navigation
Help! Which district am I in?
Buncombe County Schools is one school system consisting of six school districts: Enka (West), Erwin (North West), North Buncombe, Owen (East), Reynolds (South East), and Roberson (South). Because of the mountainous terrain and wide range of elevations in Western North Carolina, weather decisions sometimes need to be made for specific districts. During severe weather, if the scheduling of more than two districts must change, the entire school system will generally be affected.

You can determine your school's district assignment through our Find Your School directory. The district is listed next to each school's name. Alternately, see our handy images below that show which schools are within each of the six districts.

Note that specialty programs and schools may serve students from across Buncombe County, but generally follow the scheduling and weather decisions of a particular district. Contact your school or program office to learn more about how district weather decisions affect you.

Buncombe County Early College - Follows "base school" district and A-B Tech
View BCEC's weather information for detailed instructions.

Buncombe County Middle College - Follows "base school" district and A-B Tech
View BCMC's weather information for detailed instructions.

Community High School - Follows "base school" district and Owen District
View CHS' weather information for detailed instructions.

Martin L. Nesbitt Discovery Academy (NDA) - Erwin District
NDA's weather information includes instructions for students outside the Erwin District. 

Progressive Education Program (PEP) - Roberson District
View's PEP's weather information for detailed instructions.

Virtual Academy
View the BCSVA Weather Information page for detailed instructions.

Cane Creek Middle School - Reynolds/Roberson
Because of their locations and combined attendance at Cane Creek Middle School, the Reynolds and Roberson Districts make weather decisions simultaneously. Therefore, Cane Creek parents can expect all delays, closings, and early dismissals to be consistent between these two districts.

The images below highlight the schools located in each district of Buncombe County Schools. (Depending on the size of your device's screen, you may need to zoom in or download these images to view them larger.)

A.C. Reynolds District

Reynolds District

Charles D. Owen District

Owen District

Clyde A. Erwin District

Erwin District

Enka District

Enka District

North Buncombe District

North Buncombe District

T.C. Roberson District

Roberson District

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Buncombe County Schools does not discriminate on the basis of sex in its education programs or activities and is required by Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972 and federal regulations to not discriminate in such a manner. This requirement extends to admission and employment. Inquiries about the application of Title IX and its implementing federal regulations may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator and/or the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights in the Office for Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Education. The Title IX Coordinator's contact information is: Shanon Martin, [email protected], 828-255-5918, 175 Bingham Road, Asheville, NC 28806.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement