Last item for navigation
"2020 District Teachers of the Year" Production
Featured Production: 2020 Teachers of the Year
Posted on 09/11/2019
Here are the stories of seven outstanding educators were chosen by their peers from among our county's 44 teachers of the year.

BCS Communications

In Buncombe County Schools, our teachers of the year exemplify our values and inspire us greatly as we create engaging learning environments that prepare students for their tomorrow. These seven outstanding educators were chosen by their peers from among our county's 44 teachers of the year.

Our 2020 District Teachers of the Year:
• Leslie Anderson, Joe P. Eblen Intermediate School
• Caroline Ayers, Charles D. Owen Middle School
• Aubrey Cripps, North Windy Ridge
• Rebecca Hefner, Buncombe County Early College
• Beth Myers, Pisgah Elementary School
• DeLana Parker, Charles T. Koontz Intermediate School
• Rebecca Reeves, Fairview Elementary School

Congratulations to our county-wide 2020 Buncombe County Schools Teacher of the Year, Ms. DeLana Parker of C.T. Koontz Intermediate, and our Ruth Henderson Award winner, Ms. Tiffany Wooten of Clyde A. Erwin High.

This video production created by the BCS Communications team premiered at the September 10, 2019, Teacher of the Year Awards Banquet held at Celine and Company Catering ("On Broadway").

Special thanks to our title event sponsor, Pierce Group Benefits and Mix 96.5’s Tammy Jones for serving as our event emcee. Thank you also to our generous friends at Biltmore, Lifetouch, Becky’s Florist, and the Buncombe County Schools Foundation for making our community's teachers feel valued.

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Buncombe County Schools does not discriminate on the basis of sex in its education programs or activities and is required by Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972 and federal regulations to not discriminate in such a manner. This requirement extends to admission and employment. Inquiries about the application of Title IX and its implementing federal regulations may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator and/or the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights in the Office for Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Education. The Title IX Coordinator's contact information is: Shanon Martin,, 828-255-5918, 175 Bingham Road, Asheville, NC 28806.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement