Last item for navigation
2019 Bus Driver of the Year: Mr. David Mayer
2019 Bus Driver of the Year: Mr. David Mayer
Posted on 06/20/2019
Charles D. Owen High driver David Mayer was awarded the 2019 Tracy Lea Calhoun Memorial award on June 6.By: Benjamin Rickert, BCS Communications

Students applaud Mr. Mayer after learning about his special honor.Each year, an exemplary school bus driver who safely and faithfully serves the students of our community is chosen for a special honor. The Tracy Lea Calhoun Memorial award, also referred to as the BCS Bus Driver of the Year award, was presented to Mr. David Mayer of Charles D. Owen High School on June 6, 2019.

The award was presented to Mr. Mayer by Assistant Superintendent Mr. Joseph Hough before the Board of Education. Mayer has been a school bus driver since 1970, and has driven in Indianapolis, Memphis, and Buncombe County. He’s been a driver for students in the Owen district of Buncombe County Schools since September 7, 2011.

“David is one of the most positive forces we have at OHS,” said Owen Principal Meg Turner. “As Principal, it eases my mind knowing David is the first face many of our students see as they start their school day. We appreciate what he does every day for the children of the Swannanoa Valley, and the children of Owen High and Owen Middle.”

“He’s always been willing to do what needs to be done and he does it with a smile,” said Owen’s Ms. Arlene Morgan. “He’s consistent, conscientious, and cares about the kids.”

Mr. Hough spoke from the podium on behalf of Buncombe County Schools and Kay Thorpe of the Asheville Oil Company.

He said, “The Tracy Lea Calhoun Memorial award for school bus safety was created 37 years ago by the North Carolina Petroleum Marketers Association to recognize school bus drivers who have made significant contributions to school bus safety throughout the state. The award was established in honor of Tracy Lea Calhoun, a 17 year old high school student who lost her life when a school bus ran a stop sign in Raleigh and hit a car. She was on her way to her part-time job at an oil company. As a member of the association, it has been a privilege for the Asheville Oil Company / Smoky Mountain Heating and Air to present this award for a number of years to honorees in the Asheville City and Buncombe County school systems. School bus drivers have a tremendous responsibility and deserve recognition for the awesome duty they face every day transporting our children to and from school. It is our company’s hope that this award will focus attention on deserving drivers and bring about a continued dedication to school bus safety in our area.”

Congratulations to Mr. David Mayer, our 2019 Buncombe County Schools Bus Driver of the Year!

June 6, 2019, Board of Education Meeting Excerpt (edited):

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Buncombe County Schools does not discriminate on the basis of sex in its education programs or activities and is required by Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972 and federal regulations to not discriminate in such a manner. This requirement extends to admission and employment. Inquiries about the application of Title IX and its implementing federal regulations may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator and/or the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights in the Office for Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Education. The Title IX Coordinator's contact information is: Shanon Martin,, 828-255-5918, 175 Bingham Road, Asheville, NC 28806.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement