Last item for navigation
Congratulations, 2019 Top Scholars
Congratulations, 2019 Top Scholars
Posted on 05/01/2019
A collage showing the Top Scholar dinner, students walking across the stage, and posing in front of a BCS background.BCS Communications

BCS celebrated the 2019 Top Scholars from each graduating class during a dinner and special recognition ceremony at the Renaissance Asheville hotel ballroom on Tuesday, April 30.

The program featured keynote speaker Dr. Darin J. Waters, a 1985 T.C. Roberson High graduate who now serves as an associate professor of history and special assistant to the chancellor for community outreach and engagement at UNC-Asheville. He spoke of the many mentors who pushed him toward greatness and his own driving curiosity. View Mr. Waters' bio via the full event program.

Enka High senior and top scholar Neely Bennett opened the program by encouraging her fellow seniors to not be afraid of changing their minds.

Special thanks to Surry Insurance for generously supporting this year’s Top Scholar Awards Banquet. And, thanks to our annual sponsors Becky's Florist, LifeTouch, and The Asheville Renaissance.

A photo gallery is now available to view and download on Google Drive. Also, check out the photo gallery from the Asheville Citizen-Times.

This story will be updated with a video of the event.

The 2019 BCS Top Scholars are:

T.C. Roberson High
Sami Mohammad Al-Aidy
Ashlyn Grace Blakely
Bryn Alexis Copenhaver
Emily Kate Fine
Caroline Quinn Hemphill
Hope Beamer Ingram
Ryan Thomas Kirby
Emily Chae Young Lim
Dillon Paul McDowell
Devin Ryder Simmons
Keely Aidan Simmons
Grace Alexandra Stanek
Noah Christopher Steciuk
Ashley Ann Teague
Amy Lee Webster

Clyde A. Erwin High
Dorothy Allen
Eliana Noelle Anders
Jaiden Reece Bartley
James Caleb Colclasure
Edward Andreas Fowler
Nicholas Anthony Johnson
Bailey Elizabeth Justice
Savannah Joy Kefalas
Emma Ione Loveland
Kaitlyn Nicole Messer
Madeline Nicole Parker
Alisha Dolores Penland
Brianna Michelle Roberts
Dafne Alexia Garcia Sanchez
Carlee Raquel Willis

Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr. Discovery Academy
Garrett Riley Inman
Maia Louise Judd
Zachary Tyler Moss
Nataliya Stynka
Abbey Mae Walter

Enka High
Kristen Taylor Allison
Neely Adara Bennett
Emily Mariah Cruz-Rubio
Sharon Elizabeth Donahue
Tristan Eckley
Lauren Renai Elliott
Layla Anne Fistos
Israel Jacob Manley
Benjamin Robert McCulloch
Camille Rene Powers
Kristen Elizabeth Rhinehart
Madison Lee Rogers
Amber Michelle Rousseau
Kayla Grace Stokoe
Alexis Malee Taylor
Sarah Marie Vyvyan

North Buncombe High
Joe Isaac Bullman
Jennifer Amarilis Chum
Shelby Rose Clark
Laura Ruth Deaver
Maxander Thomas Destino
Kayna Leigh Emory
Skyler Brooke George
Sheyla Naomi Hernandez-Ortiz
Benjamin Atticus Johnson
Jessica Rae McKee
Molly Ann Moran
Makenzie Ann Rink
Hailey Marie Rumbough
Matthew Wilson Shaw
Madison Alexia-Rae Yearout

Buncombe County Early College
Diana Constantin Botnar
Jordan Phyllis Jian Dennison
Alison Rae Gaddy
Anna Kathleen Hawkins-Ross
Cheyenne Elizabeth Warren

A.C. Reynolds High
Joanna Grace Barham
Jacob Michael Bratton
Catherine Alexandra Chianese
Mitchell Alexander Cross
Elizabeth Claire Curley
Anayancy Guzman
Kendall Paige Henretta
Drew Daniel Johnson
Grace Marie Mayer
Sadie McNair
Audrey Eugenia Xiajie Meigs
Leia Anne Reilly
Olivia Wade Senor
Lucas Colley Wiley
Madison Bryce Wommack

Charles D. Owen High
Andrew Vaughan Banzhoff
Sara Lynne Bassett
Rachel Lauren Beaver
Josie Mathews Davis
Gabriel Onaxis Dimenna
Chesney Cooper Gardner
Michael Boris Gun
Wyatt Joseph Lehman
Grace Elizabeth Martin
Kaitlin Renee Morris
Mikayla Renee Rice
Katelyn Genevieve Rogers
Graham Scott Roy
Anna-Kate Self
Chloe Marie Stiles

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Buncombe County Schools does not discriminate on the basis of sex in its education programs or activities and is required by Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972 and federal regulations to not discriminate in such a manner. This requirement extends to admission and employment. Inquiries about the application of Title IX and its implementing federal regulations may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator and/or the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights in the Office for Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Education. The Title IX Coordinator's contact information is: Shanon Martin,, 828-255-5918, 175 Bingham Road, Asheville, NC 28806.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement