Last item for navigation
2020 District Teachers of the Year Named
2020 District Teachers of the Year Named
Posted on 04/05/2019
We proudly announce our 2020 BCS District Teachers of the Year!(Pictured Left to Right: DeLana Parker, Aubrey Cripps, Rebecca Reeves, Caroline Ayers, Beth Myers, and Leslie Anderson. Not Pictured: Rebecca Hefner.)

BCS Communications Dept.

Buncombe County Schools proudly announced seven District Teachers of the Year at the April 4 Board of Education Regular Meeting.

In January, 44 Buncombe County schools named a Teacher of the Year. This month, a teacher-led committee chose these seven accomplished educators to represent the BCS districts, including at At-Large "district" for specialty schools. Our District Teachers of the Year are also finalists in the search for our county-wide Teacher of the Year, to be announced in September.

Congratulations to our 2020 District Teachers of the Year!

Erwin District
Leslie Anderson, Joe P. Eblen Intermediate

Enka District
Beth Myers, Pisgah Elementary

Owen District
Caroline Ayers, Charles D. Owen Middle

Reynolds District
Rebecca Reeves, Fairview Elementary

North Buncombe District
Aubrey Cripps, North Windy Ridge Intermediate

Roberson District
DeLana Parker, C.T. Koontz Intermediate

Rebecca Hefner, Buncombe County Early College

View and download photos (Google Drive) from the April 4 Board of Education meeting, where all 44 teachers were honored, and our District finalists were announced.

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Buncombe County Schools does not discriminate on the basis of sex in its education programs or activities and is required by Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972 and federal regulations to not discriminate in such a manner. This requirement extends to admission and employment. Inquiries about the application of Title IX and its implementing federal regulations may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator and/or the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights in the Office for Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Education. The Title IX Coordinator's contact information is: Shanon Martin,, 828-255-5918, 175 Bingham Road, Asheville, NC 28806.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement