Last item for navigation
2019 Teachers of the Year
2019 Teachers of the Year
Posted on 02/22/2018
Teachers of the Year listen to a presentation at the BCS Central Office on Wednesday, February 21, 2018.Congratulations to our teachers of the year! Colleagues in each BCS school chose them as exemplars of educational excellence.

“The personal recognition from your peers – wow,” said 2017 BCS Teacher of the Year Cathy Belair. “That’s big.”

BCS hosted a small celebration on Wednesday to let the 2019 Teachers of the Year know about the process of selecting our county winner. Our Teacher of the Year committee will spend the next several months reading portfolios and conducting interviews to choose the finalists.

“You are the best of the best,” said BCS Superintendent Dr. Tony Baldwin. “I’m extremely proud of each and every one of you. And I hope that you inspire others to strive for greatness.”

This is a special time for us to recognize our educators across the school system. Each of the 44 BCS schools has selected a teacher of the year. Each school-level winner now can choose to participate in the process to select our seven district winners and BCS Teacher of the Year. That winner will go on to represent our county in the regional competition.

The 2019 BCS Teachers of the Year are:
– Robert Reid Goodson, A.C. Reynolds High
– Rebekah Calloway, A.C. Reynolds Middle
– Brian Worley, Avery’s Creek Elementary
– Kylie Peek, Barnardsville Elementary
– Caroline Clark, Black Mountain Elementary
– Patricia Berzinski, Black Mountain Primary
– Philip Justen, Buncombe County Early College
– Julie Wimbish, C.T. Koontz Intermediate
– Karen Strickland, Candler Elementary
– Clif Dodson, Cane Creek Middle
– Sarah Huler, Charles C. Bell Elementary
– Britney Clubb, Charles D. Owen High
– Krista Langlois, Charles D. Owen Middle
– Kady Rice, Clyde A. Erwin High
– April Davis, Clyde A. Erwin Middle
– Carl Cunningham, Community High
– Cheyenne Emmett, Emma Elementary
– Clay H. Stroupe, Enka Intermediate
– Jason Rollins, Enka High
– Ariel James, Enka Middle
– Teresa Getty, Fairview Elementary
– Kirsten Cooper, Glen Arden Elementary
– Sarah Camby, Haw Creek Elementary
– Felicia Proffitt, Hominy Valley Elementary
– Rebecca Laughinghouse, Joe P. Eblen Intermediate
– Kathryn Lawson, Johnston Elementary
– E. Lissa Pedersen, Leicester Elementary
– Paul Irvin, Nesbitt Discovery Academy
– Audrey Webb, North Buncombe Elementary
– Tammy Fulford, North Buncombe Middle
– Karen Herrick, North Buncombe High
– Ashley Willis, North Windy Ridge Intermediate
– Daniela Matus, Oakley Elementary
– Joseph Halpin, Pisgah Elementary
– Jennifer Hall, Progressive Education Program
– Caitlin Best, Sand Hill-Venable Elementary
– Cristina McMinn, T.C. Roberson High
– Katrina Fox, Valley Springs Middle
– Krystal Collins, W.D. Williams Elementary
– Lisa Lemus, W.W. Estes Elementary
– Crystle Hyatt, Weaverville Elementary
– Carrie Hollifield, Weaverville Primary
– Christin Payne, West Buncombe Elementary
– Gwenn Frederick, Woodfin Elementary

    Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Buncombe County Schools does not discriminate on the basis of sex in its education programs or activities and is required by Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972 and federal regulations to not discriminate in such a manner. This requirement extends to admission and employment. Inquiries about the application of Title IX and its implementing federal regulations may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator and/or the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights in the Office for Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Education. The Title IX Coordinator's contact information is: Shanon Martin,, 828-255-5918, 175 Bingham Road, Asheville, NC 28806.

    Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation.
    All rights reserved. Privacy Statement