Last item for navigation
2017 District Teachers of the Year Announced
2017 District Teachers of the Year Announced
Posted on 09/01/2016

Buncombe County Schools’ (BCS) six District Teachers of the Year for 2017 were announced at the Regular Board Meeting this evening. The winners, announced in alphabetical order according to their districts, are:

 Teacher School District
Sean Dare Enka Middle School Enka District
Tina Evans Martin L. Nesbitt Discovery Academy Erwin District
Jennifer Vann Barnardsville Elementary School  North Buncombe District
Samantha Gallman Charles D. Owen High School Owen District
Caitlin Sullivan Fairview Elementary School Reynolds District
Catherine Belair  Valley Springs Middle School Roberson District

“Tonight we not only celebrate this year’s six district Finalists for the 2017 Buncombe County Teacher of the Year, we also put a well-earned spotlight on all of our exceptional schoolsTeachers of the Year,” said BCS Associate Superintendent Susanne Swanger. “This honor is especially meaningful because these educators have been recognized by their peers for their excellence in the classroom, commitment to public education, and ability to help students succeed.”

Read the full release HERE, which includes a list of all 44 Buncombe County Schools' Teachers of the Year for 2017.

Photos from the September 1st Board Meeting- which include pictures of all BCS Teachers of the Year- may be viewed or downloaded HERE.

TOTY 2017
Pictured from left to right:
Dr. Tony Baldwin (Superintendent),Caitlin Sullivan (Fairview Elementary), Tina Evans (Nesbitt Discovery Academy), Catherine Belair (Valley Springs Middle), Sean Dare (Enka Middle), Jennifer Vann (Barnardsville Elementary), Samantha Gallman (Charles D. Owen High), and Dusty Pless (Board Member, At-Large Representative).

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Buncombe County Schools does not discriminate on the basis of sex in its education programs or activities and is required by Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972 and federal regulations to not discriminate in such a manner. This requirement extends to admission and employment. Inquiries about the application of Title IX and its implementing federal regulations may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator and/or the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights in the Office for Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Education. The Title IX Coordinator's contact information is: Shanon Martin,, 828-255-5918, 175 Bingham Road, Asheville, NC 28806.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement