Last item for navigation
Congratulations, 2022 Teachers of the Year
Congratulations, 2022 Teachers of the Year
Posted on 12/20/2021
Congratulations once again to our current BCS Teachers of the Year! Over the first two weeks of December, principals and other administrators presented each school’s Teacher of the Year with beautiful glass awards.BCS Communications Department

Congratulations once again to our current BCS Teachers of the Year! Over the first two weeks of December, principals and other administrators presented each school’s Teacher of the Year with beautiful glass awards.
The annual teacher of the year tradition promotes excellence in education, as teachers recognize peers who exemplify the profession and its values. Each school’s chosen Teacher of the Year participates in a rigorous process requiring them to reflect on their careers, methods, and values. They write essays, deliver speeches, interview with a teacher-led decision committee, and are observed during instruction. The program encourages and motivates teachers to be their best, while challenging them to better articulate their professional goals.

BCS names seven District Teachers of the Year representing the six traditional high school districts and an “at-large” district consisting of specialty schools. One of the district winners is then chosen as the overall BCS winner, going on to compete for the regional title.

An eighth teacher receives the Ruth Henderson Award, named for legendary Clyde A. Erwin High English and journalism teacher Ruth Muse Henderson (1930-1990). The award honors an altruistic teacher who strives to make the community better.

The 2022-23 Teachers of the Year will be announced in January, 2021.

The 2021-22 Teachers of the Year are:

Dustin Anderson, Avery's Creek Elementary
Britini Ipox, Barnardsville Elementary S
Laura Podraza, Charles C. Bell Elementary
Ruth Shivers, Black Mountain Elementary
Rachel Averett, Black Mountain Primary
Tom Copeland, Buncombe County Middle College
Karina Padilla, Candler Elementary (RUTH HENDERSON AWARD WINNER)
Jessica Henry, Cane Creek Middle
Arami Holloway Moore, Community High (AT-LARGE DISTRICT WINNER)
Melanie Norton, Joe P. Eblen Intermediate
Gabriela Dominguez-Aragonez, Emma Elementary
Sherrie Gosnell, Enka High
Holly Gibbs, Enka Intermediate
Jane Ann Dempsey, Enka Middle
Zachary Wooten, Clyde A. Erwin High
Jordan Braschler, Clyde A. Erwin Middle (ERWIN DISTRICT WINNER)
Vicki McGraw, William W. Estes Elementary
Maggie Harvin, Fairview Elementary (REYNOLDS DISTRICT WINNER)
Lisa Horak, Glen Arden Elementary
Karen Davis, Haw Creek Elementary
Charlene Martin, Hominy Valley Elementary
Christy Pace, Johnston Elementary
Aylett Burchfiel, Charles T. Koontz Intermediate
Laura Byers, Leicester Elementary
Christina Hawkins, Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr. Discovery Academy
Kelly Penley, North Buncombe Elementary
Kimberly Sprouse, North Buncombe High
Joseph Morrill, North Buncombe Middle
Sandy Tarantino, North Windy Ridge Intermediate
Brooke Bowlin, Oakley Elementary
Nathan Arvey, Charles D. Owen High
Jamie Munn, Charles D. Owen Middle
Jeremy Carter, Progressive Education Program
Katelyn Braschler, Pisgah Elementary (ENKA DISTRICT WINNER)
Sara Anne Kahn, A.C. Reynolds Middle
Katie Roman, A.C. Reynolds High
Casey Soule, Sand Hill-Venable Elementary
Lisa Stamey, T.C. Roberson High
Richard Rookey, Valley Springs Middle (ROBERSON DISTRICT WINNER)
William Honey, W.D. Williams Elementary (BCS OVERALL WINNER, OWEN DISTRICT WINNER)
Carol Crayton, Weaverville Elementary
Jennifer Shelley, Weaverville Primary (NORTH BUNCOMBE DISTRICT WINNER)
Chandrea Bartley, West Buncombe Elementary
Cynthia Honey, Woodfin Elementary

Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Buncombe County Schools does not discriminate on the basis of sex in its education programs or activities and is required by Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972 and federal regulations to not discriminate in such a manner. This requirement extends to admission and employment. Inquiries about the application of Title IX and its implementing federal regulations may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator and/or the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights in the Office for Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Education. The Title IX Coordinator's contact information is: Shanon Martin,, 828-255-5918, 175 Bingham Road, Asheville, NC 28806.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement